Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Metro Performance Glass has an experienced and balanced Board. Its members collectively contribute a diverse range of skills and backgrounds including executive and governance roles at various building products companies, publicly listed companies and other significant entities both in New Zealand and internationally. The Board comprises an independent, non-executive Chairman, four independent non-executive directors and one executive director.

Peter Griffiths

Independent, Non-Executive Chairman and Chairman of Remuneration Committee

After a career in the energy industry Peter has become a professional director. His prior position was as Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director of BP Oil New Zealand for 10 years, retiring in 2009. Peter is also Chairman of Z Energy and a director of Marsden Maritime Holdings, having previously served on the boards of The New Zealand Refining Company, New Zealand Oil and Gas, and Energy Direct New Zealand.

He is a trustee of the New Zealand Business and Parliament Trust and has private interests in marine contracting and general aviation.

Angela Bull

Independent, Non-Executive Director 

Angela is currently the Chief Executive Officer of Tramco Group Limited, a large New Zealand property investment company, and a director of the New Zealand Institute of Economic Research. She joined Tramco in February 2016.

Prior to leading Tramco Group, Angela held a number of senior positions over a 10-year period with Foodstuffs, most recently being General Manager Property Development for Foodstuffs North Island. This was preceded by a legal career, including roles with Chapman Tripp, the Crown Law Office and Simpson Grierson.

Angela holds a Bachelor of Arts and a Bachelor of Laws degree from the University of Auckland.

Gordon Buswell

Independent, Non-Executive Director and Member of the Remuneration Committee

Gordon has more than 25 years’ experience in the building and construction industry. He currently holds a number of industry-associated directorships, including the Building Industry Federation, Platinum Homes Limited, Construction Strategy Group and the Registered Master Builders Association of New Zealand. He is also a member of the New Zealand Institute of Directors.

Prior to moving into governance roles, Gordon was the Chief Executive Officer of Independent Timber Merchants (ITM) for 13 years and also spent 12 years with Carter Holt Harvey.

Gordon holds a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Auckland.

Russell Chenu

Independent, Non-Executive Director and Chairman of Audit and Risk Committee

Russell has significant experience in the corporate sector with more than 22 years in senior management roles. He has considerable expertise in senior finance related roles, including with building products companies.

Russell is currently an independent director and the Chairman of the Audit and Risk Committee of ASX-listed businesses CIMIC Group Limited and Reliance Worldwide Corporation Limited. He is also a director of James Hardie Industries plc, following a 23-year career with the company, holding various management and executive positions in a number of countries, including most recently serving as group Chief Financial Officer from 2004 to 2013.

Russell has a Bachelor of Commerce from The University of Melbourne, an MBA from Macquarie Graduate School of Management and is a Member of the Society of Certified Practising Accountants (Australia).

Nigel Rigby

Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer

Nigel was appointed as Chief Executive Officer of Metro Performance Glass in 2012. Nigel has over 15 years’ of experience working in the building products sector in New Zealand, Australia, Asia and the United States.

Prior to joining Metro Performance Glass, Nigel was with the James Hardie group for 13 years, including Executive General Manager – USA for James Hardie. In this role he led James Hardie’s largest international business division, which included managing large and complex capital projects as well as the day-to-day management and responsibility for the performance of this division.

Willem (Bill) Roest 

Independent, Non-Executive Director and Member of Audit and Risk Committee

Bill has extensive experience in the New Zealand corporate sector, both in executive and non-executive functions, in particular in the domains of finance and corporate governance.

He is currently on the boards of Synlait Milk (where he chairs the Audit and Risk Committee), Fisher & Paykel Appliances (where he chairs the Audit Committee) and New Zealand Housing Foundation.

Prior to his non-executive roles, Bill held the position of Chief Financial Officer at Fletcher Building for 12 years. Before this, he held several leadership roles within the Fletcher Group, including as Managing Director of Fletcher Residential and Fletcher Aluminium.

Bill is a Fellow of the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (United Kingdom) and an Associate Member of the Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand.